Sun Pharma gets CDSCO nod for generic oral semaglutide pill
India's drug regulator has cleared Sun Pharma to sell a generic oral semaglutide tablet for type 2 diabetes, joining Torrent and Dr Reddy's in a crowded market.
India's drug regulator, the Central Drugs Standard Control Organisation (CDSCO), has cleared Sun Pharmaceutical Industries to make and sell a generic once-daily semaglutide tablet for type 2 diabetes, Medical Dialogues reported on 1 November and the Elets eHealth site covered on 2 November. The pill comes in 3 mg, 7 mg and 14 mg strengths and is described as therapeutically equivalent to Novo Nordisk's Rybelsus. Sun has not announced a price or a launch date, and it did not respond to a request for comment, according to the Elets report.
What was approved
CDSCO's approval covers a generic oral semaglutide for adults with type 2 diabetes. Semaglutide belongs to a class of medicines called GLP-1 receptor agonists, which copy a gut hormone that raises insulin release after meals and slows the stomach. The original oral version is Novo Nordisk's Rybelsus, a daily tablet. Sun's tablet is described as equivalent to it in the three strengths 3 mg, 7 mg and 14 mg.
Neither report gives a brand name for Sun's pill. They say it will be made at Sun's Kamrup facility in Assam, with the active ingredient supplied by Zhongmeihuadong Pharmaceutical of Hangzhou, China. The Medical Dialogues piece attributes the manufacturing details to an Economic Times report and describes the formulation as being of r-DNA origin, meaning made with recombinant DNA technology.
The approval is for diabetes. Medical Dialogues also lists other uses of semaglutide as a drug class, including weight management and reducing major cardiovascular events in selected adults, but those are not what this approval covers.
Why the patent matters
The main patent on semaglutide in India expired in March 2026, according to both reports, which opened the way for Indian drugmakers to launch generic versions. The oral formulation is a separate matter: a different patent still protects it in India, which is why the route to market for a tablet has not been the same as for an injection.
Torrent Pharma reached the market first after the Delhi High Court found that its formulation did not infringe Novo Nordisk's patent, the reports say. Torrent sells the oral generic under the brand names Semalix and Sembolic and reportedly holds close to 90% of the segment. Dr Reddy's sells its version as Obeda at Rs 99 for the 3 mg tablet, Rs 135 for 7 mg and Rs 225 for 14 mg, according to the Economic Times as quoted by Medical Dialogues.
What this means is that Sun is arriving as the third named generic maker in a market where one rival reportedly already holds most of the sales. Whether Sun's approval covers the same formulation that survived Torrent's court challenge is not stated in either report, and nothing in them says how the oral formulation patent will affect Sun's launch. That is an open question.
A fast-growing but crowded market
PharmaTrac estimates that India's GLP-1 market, covering injections and tablets, is about Rs 2,700 crore, roughly three times the Rs 950 crore recorded in 2025, according to the Elets eHealth report. That jump explains why several of India's largest drug companies have rushed to enter. Sun already sells semaglutide injections: its Noveltreat is for chronic weight management and Sematrinity for type 2 diabetes, with sales of Rs 19 crore and Rs 16 crore respectively up to September 2026, the report says.
Sun's executive chairman, Dilip Shanghvi, was quoted as saying that even a few percent of the total patient pool would make it "a very, very large product". That is a company view of the opportunity, not a measured sales forecast.
What is confirmed and what is not
Confirmed by both reports: CDSCO's clearance, the three strengths, the therapeutic equivalence to Rybelsus, the manufacturing site and the diabetes indication. Reported but attributed to the Economic Times: the Chinese supplier of the active ingredient and Dr Reddy's prices. Not stated anywhere: Sun's brand name, price, launch date, and how it will deal with the oral formulation patent. Torrent's 90% share is described as "reported", and no date or method is given for it.
The CDSCO approval is also not a statement that the drug is better than rival brands. A generic is approved on the basis that it behaves the same way in the body as the original, not on new trials of its own.
How a generic gets approved, in plain terms
A generic medicine does not repeat the full clinical trials of the original. The maker has to show that its tablet contains the same active ingredient in the same strength and that it reaches the bloodstream in a similar amount and at a similar speed. That is what "therapeutically equivalent" means in the reports. Think of a second bakery making the same recipe: the regulator checks that the bread comes out the same, not that the recipe is new.
That is also why patents decide timing. A generic can only go on sale in India once the relevant patents have expired or have been found not to cover the product. For oral semaglutide, the reports say the main patent expired in March 2026 but a separate patent on the oral formulation remains, which is why the courts were involved in Torrent's launch. A regulator's approval and the legal right to sell are two different steps, and the reports describe only the first for Sun.
What it means for patients and doctors
For people with type 2 diabetes, a third generic oral semaglutide could add competition and, in time, lower prices, as it has with injections. Neither report says by how much, and until Sun announces a price nothing can be said. A once-daily tablet has a practical advantage for people who dislike injections, though a medicine's suitability is a decision for a patient and a doctor, and nothing here is medical advice.
For a buyer comparing brands, the main thing to check is the strength on the label, since the price per tablet differs by strength. At Dr Reddy's published prices, a month of daily 14 mg tablets would cost 30 times Rs 225, which is Rs 6,750, while the 3 mg strength would be 30 times Rs 99, or Rs 2,970. The calculator below lets you change the price and the number of days, and it will work for any brand once Sun's price is known.
What to watch next
Sun's brand name, price and launch date are the first things to look for. The second is whether the oral formulation patent leads to any court action, since Novo Nordisk's rights over that formulation are said to remain in force and Torrent's win was about its own formulation. The third is whether prices fall: Dr Reddy's published prices give a baseline, and a third entrant would be the first test of how fast they move. Finally, watch the GLP-1 market data from PharmaTrac in the months ahead, since the Rs 2,700 crore estimate will show whether tablets are actually taking share from injections.
Key takeaways
- CDSCO has cleared Sun Pharma to make and sell a generic once-daily oral semaglutide for type 2 diabetes in 3 mg, 7 mg and 14 mg strengths, according to Medical Dialogues and Elets eHealth.
- Sun has not announced a brand name, price or launch date, and the reports do not say how the oral formulation patent will affect it.
- Torrent Pharma reportedly holds close to 90% of the oral segment, and Dr Reddy's sells Obeda at Rs 99, Rs 135 and Rs 225 per tablet.
- PharmaTrac estimates India's GLP-1 market at about Rs 2,700 crore, roughly three times its Rs 950 crore size in 2025.
Sources
- [Medical Dialogues: Sun Pharma secures CDSCO approval for generic semaglutide pill](https://medicaldialogues.in/news/industry/pharma/sun-pharma-gets-cdsco-nod-for-generic-semaglutide-pill-182463)
- [Elets eHealth: Sun Pharma oral semaglutide gets CDSCO approval](https://ehealth.eletsonline.com/2026/11/sun-pharma-oral-semaglutide-cdsco-approval/)
Tags: CDSCO Semaglutide Sun Pharma Drug approval Diabetes